Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Venetian Game

The Venetian Game

Philip Gwynne Jones

For fans of Joseph Kanon, Donna Leon and Abir Mukherjee comes a fantastic new thriller, The Venetian Game. Set in one of the most beautiful cities on earth, a mild mannered English consul is drawn into a web of deadly secrets and lies
Regular price £2.74 GBP
Regular price RRP £9.99 GBP Sale price £2.74 GBP
Sold out
Tax included.

Condition: Used - Good

View full details

Collapsible content

Summary

'An unputdownable thriller' Gregory Dowling

'It is no surprise to find that Philip Gwynne Jones lives in Venice... art and architecture interweave into a story that builds to an almost surreal climax'
Daily Mail

*****

A game of cross and double-cross in Venice, one of the most beautiful cities on earth.

From his office on the Street of the Assassins, Nathan Sutherland enjoys a steady but unexciting life translating Italian DIY manuals. All this changes dramatically when he is offered a large sum of money to look after a small package containing an extremely valuable antique prayer book illustrated by a Venetian master. But is it a stolen masterpiece - or a brilliant fake?

Unknown to Nathan, from a vast mansion on the Grand Canal twin brothers Domenico and Arcangelo Moro, motivated by nothing more than mutual hatred, have been playing out a complex game of art theft for twenty years. And now Nathan finds himself unwittingly drawn into their deadly business . . .

*****

Praise for Philip Gwynne Jones

'I devoured all Philip's novels and felt transported to Venice with a new intimacy' Val McDermid

'Superb - always gripping, beautifully constructed and vivid' Stephen Glover

'Sinister and shimmering, The Venetian Game is as haunting and darkly elegant as Venice itself' L.S. Hilton, bestselling author of Maestra

'Clever and great fun' The Times

'The Venetian setting is vividly described... good, fluid writing makes for easy reading' Literary Review

'Un-put-downable . . . If you love Venice, you'll love this because you'll be transported there in an instant. If you've not been to Venice, read this book and then go. If you like intrigue, and a clever plot, you'll love this book' Amazon reviewer, 5*****

*****

Vengeance in Venice, the second book in Philip Gwynne Jones' sensational Venice series, is available now

Product Description

Title - The Venetian Game

Edition -

Author - Philip Gwynne Jones

ISBN 13 - 9781472123978

Imprint - Constable

Publisher - Little, Brown Book Group

Date Published - 02/03/2017

Prize -

No. of pages -

Binding Type - Paperback

Dimensions - 133 x 199 x 22mm

Weight - 254 g

Languages - English