Skip to product information
1 of 1

The King's Mistress

The King's Mistress

Gillian Bagwell

[Published as The September Queen in the US]

Set against the volatile backdrop of the English Civil War, dive into this enthralling tale of danger, bravery, and a woman who would do anything for the man she loved.

Regular price £3.46 GBP
Regular price RRP £11.99 GBP Sale price £3.46 GBP
Sold out
Tax included.

Condition: Used - Good

View full details

Collapsible content

Summary

[Published as The September Queen in the US]

Set against the volatile backdrop of the English Civil War, dive into this enthralling tale of danger, bravery, and a woman who would do anything for the man she loved.

It’s 1651 and Jane Lane leads a privileged life inside the walls of her family’s home. At 25 years old, her parents are keen to see her settled, but Jane dreams of a union that goes beyond the advantageous match her father desires.

Her quiet world is shattered when Royalists, fighting to restore the crown to King Charles II, arrive at their door, imploring Jane and her family for help. They have been hiding the king, but Cromwell’s forces are close behind them, baying for Charles’ blood – and the blood of anyone who seeks to help him. Putting herself in mortal danger, Jane must help the king escape to safety by disguising him as her manservant.

With the shadow of the gallows dogging their every step, Jane finds herself falling in love with the gallant young Charles. But will Jane surrender to a passion that could change her life – and the course of history – forever?

The unforgettable true story of Charles II’s escape, and the love and bravery of the woman who made it possible. Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick.

Product Description

Title - The King's Mistress

Edition -

Author - Gillian Bagwell

ISBN 13 - 9781847562593

Imprint - AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd

Publisher - HarperCollins Publishers

Date Published - 19/07/2012

Prize -

No. of pages -

Binding Type - Paperback

Dimensions - 129 x 198 x 25mm

Weight - 290 g

Languages - English