Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Darling Strumpet

The Darling Strumpet

Gillian Bagwell

She sold her innocence … and captured the heart of a king.

‘A richly engaging portrait of the life and times of one of history's most appealing characters!’ Diana Gabaldon, creator of the Outlander series.

Regular price £3.46 GBP
Regular price RRP £13.99 GBP Sale price £3.46 GBP
Sold out
Tax included.

Condition: Used - Good

View full details

Collapsible content

Summary

She sold her innocence … and captured the heart of a king.

‘A richly engaging portrait of the life and times of one of history's most appealing characters!’ Diana Gabaldon, creator of the Outlander series.

London, 1660

Growing up in the bawdy atmosphere of 17th century Covent Garden, Nell Gwynn is little more than a girl when she enters the world of the courtesan. But Nell learns the hard way that to be at the mercy of unscrupulous men is no life at all.

With London’s theatres flourishing, Nell seizes an opportunity to change her luck and takes a job selling oranges at The King’s Playhouse on Drury Lane.

It isn’t long before Nell takes centre-stage herself and her saucy wit and ambitious temperament soon catch the eye of the young King Charles II. But can she keep him enthralled when the country’s finest Ladies are vying for his attentions at court?

A captivating historical fiction novel that will lead you through the streets of 17th century London to the court of King Charles II. Perfect for fans of Julia Quinn and Tessa Dare.

Product Description

Title - The Darling Strumpet

Edition -

Author - Gillian Bagwell

ISBN 13 - 9781847562500

Imprint - AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd

Publisher - HarperCollins Publishers

Date Published - 04/08/2011

Prize -

No. of pages -

Binding Type - Paperback

Dimensions - 129 x 198 x 26mm

Weight - 300 g

Languages - English